Paper J2

Nominations committee

Supplementary report





Nominations: supplementary report

A. Amendments to published list of nominations

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following additional amendments to the Nominations list that was agreed in May 2017.

- 2.2 Nominations committee
 - i. The Revd Brian Jolly is now the North Western Synod member.
- 3.1 Mission committee
 - i. The Revd Branwen Rees is now the National Synod of Wales member. Branwen will serve until the end of General Assembly 2022.
- 3.1.5 Rural strategy group (URC/Methodist)
 - i. The Revd Steve Faber is now the Synod Moderator co-chair. Steve will serve until the end of General Assembly 2022.
- 5.8 Investment committee
 - Mrs Jean Hudson was appointed at the May 2015 meeting of Mission Council and should therefore be added to the Nominations List. Jean will serve until 30 June 2019
- 9.1 Northern College
 - i. Mission Council has previously appointed the following to be URC Governors and notes their end dates:
 - The Revd Raymond Singh serving to 30 June 2019 Mrs Sheila Davies serving to 30 June 2021.
 - ii. Mr Willie Duncan has been serving as URC Governor since 2017. He should therefore be added to the Nominations List with an end-date of 30 June 2021.
 - iii. The Revd Dr Robert Pope, the Revd David Jenkins, Mr Steve Wood and the Revd Brian Jolly are no longer serving as URC Governors and should therefore be removed from the Nominations List.

B. Correction to a previous decision

The October 2016 meeting of Mission Council appointed Mrs Margaret Brock to serve on the Ministries – accreditation sub-committee (minute 16/46). However, Margaret had actually been invited to serve on the Ministries – maintenance of ministry sub-committee.

Mission Council is therefore asked to rescind, on behalf of General Assembly, its decision of October 2016 to appoint Mrs Margaret Brock to the Ministries – accreditation sub-committee and to appoint her instead to be a Member of the Ministries – maintenance of ministry sub-committee with immediate effect until 30 June 2021.

To effect this correction, the Nominations committee proposes Resolution two.

C. New appointments

2.3 Ministerial incapacity and discipline advisory group (MIND)

The Nominations committee supports the request of the Synod Moderators and MIND that the membership of MIND should include a Synod Moderator. The Nominations committee proposes:

- i. Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council extends the membership of the ministerial incapacity and discipline advisory group to include a Synod Moderator.
- ii. Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council appoints the Revd Clare Downing to serve as the Synod Moderator on the ministerial incapacity and discipline advisory group until 30 June 2021.

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following appointments:

- 9.1 Northern College
 - The Revd Mark Bates, Mrs Rosie Buxton and Mr Bill Potter to be URC Governors with immediate effect until the end of General Assembly 2022

Roots for Churches Ltd

The Revd John Proctor to be the URC trustee with immediate effect until the end of General Assembly 2022.

Note: Roots is a Christian publisher. Mrs Karen Morrison was the previous URC trustee.

D. Appointments to be made at General Assembly

The Nominations committee advises that those listed below have accepted invitations to serve from the end of this year's General Assembly, which will be asked to appoint them. This is a provisional list – there will be further nominations to consider at General Assembly.

† = extension of term of service

Ref	Committee/Group	Name	Role	From	Years	
1.6	Resource sharing task group	The Revd Jacky Embrey	Synod Moderator	Jul 18	4	
			and Convenor			

Ref	Committee/Group	Name	Role	From	Years
4.1.2	Ministries – CRCW programme sub-com	The Revd Peter Meek	Synod Moderator	Jul18	4
4.1.3	Ministries – maintenance of ministry sub-com	Mr David Black	Member	Jul18	1 [†]
4.1.3	Ministries – maintenance of ministry sub-com	Mrs Jean Wyber	Member	Jul18	4
4.1.3	Ministries – maintenance of ministry sub-com	Mr David Gartside	Member	Jul18	4
4.1.4	Retired Ministers' Housing sub-committee	The Revd Andrew Mills	Synod Moderator	Jul18	4
4.1.5	Assessment Board	Mr Dan Morrell	Member	Jul18	5
4.1.5	Assessment Board	The Revd John Danso	Member	Jul18	5
4.2	Education and learning committee	Mrs Sandra Ackroyd	Member	Jul18	4
4.2	Education and learning committee	Ms Adella Pritchard	Member	Jul18	4
4.2	Education and learning committee	The Revd Martin Truscott	Member	Jul18	4
4.3	Children's and youth work committee	Mrs Ruth Roddison	Member	Jul18	2 [†]
4.3	Children's and youth work committee	Mrs Alison Tansom	Member	Jul18	2 [†]
4.3	Children's and youth work committee	Ms Charmaine Mutare	Member	Jul18	4
5.1	Assembly arrangements committee	The Revd Adrian Bulley	Convenor-Elect	Jul18	2
5.1	Assembly arrangements committee	The Revd Adrian Bulley	Convenor	Jul20	6
5.2	Communications committee	Mr Stan Hazell	Member	Jul18	4
5.3	Equalities committee	Ms Pam Gold	Member	Jul18	4
5.3	Equalities committee	Mr Jake Convery	Member	Jul18	4
5.4	Finance committee	Mr Frank Liddell	Member	Jul18	4
5.5	URC Trust	Mrs Val Morrison	Member	Jul18	2
5.5	URC Trust	Ms Catriona Wheeler	Member	Jul18	4
5.6	URC Ministers Pensions Trust	Mr Richard Nunn	Convenor	Jul18	4^{\dagger}
5.6	URC Ministers Pensions Trust	Miss Margaret Atkinson	Member	Jul18	2^{\dagger}
5.8	Investment committee	The Revd Dick Gray	Convenor	Jul18	4
5.8	Investment committee	Mr David Martin	Member	Jul18	4
10.4	Milton Mount Foundation	The Revd June Colley	Governor	Jul18	4